One foot up on the competition

Actually, what I had one foot up on, during the Deep Eddy Mile, was the wall. I actually managed to swim the whole race without ever touching either wall with my right foot.

Of course, my one-footed pushoffs weren’t great, but my foot lives to fight another day. On the other hand (yes, that’s right, hand, not foot) though I didn’t kick much the whole race; especially with my right foot. I did kick way too hard the last two laps. That, I paid for. I don’t think I exacerbated the damage, but my foot sure hurt when I finished. Standing up after I climbed out of the pool wasn’t much fun.

Meanwhile, the Deep Eddy Mile was. It was great fun and a great day. What a wonderful group of swimmers, volunteers, staff, and helpers. Though the Deep Eddy Mile has always been a really unique atmosphere with everyone getting after the swim, cheering each other on, enjoying each others company, and helping each other out with timing and counting; this, the tenth annual, might very well have been the best yet. And, of course, how can you go wrong spending your morning at Deep Eddy?

This entry was posted in Events. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

