Prostate Cancer

For the last couple of months, I’ve been taking time away from coaching, blogging, and other work activities to reflect on what I want to do with the rest of my time, what projects I want to do, which projects I don’t want to do, and which projects I’d like to take on, but probably shouldn’t.

I think I also needed a break.

It seems, however, that I am flinging myself back into some projects. I’ve started writing again. (See the February and upcoming March issue of Austin Fit Magazine.) And, I’ve been working on two possible book projects.

And, I’ve jumped in full bore to working on The Money Box Cap 2k 10th Annual Open Water Race and Pledge Swim. This year our cause will be fighting prostate cancer. Our charities are The Prostate Cancer Foundation, for which we will be raising money for research for prevention and cure, and Us Too International for which we will be raising money for support, education, awareness, and advocacy. They both are wonderful non-profits doing great work.

I am particularly passionate about this cause, for although I’m lucky enough not to have been diagnosed with prostate cancer, I, like many of you, have been touched personally.

You may have noticed that last year’s The Money Box Cap 2k was dedicated to our longtime friend, TeamTexas Swimmer, and legendary athlete, Sammy Oates. Sammy lost a long battle with prostate cancer in 2010. Though I saw Sammy regularly in the 35 years we were friends, I can’t remember a single time we were together when we didn’t laugh like crazy, including the last time I saw him shortly before he died. He always brightened my day. I miss him.

Sandy’s father has been a prostate cancer survivor for about 25 years now.

Joe Bowen, another TeamTexas swimmer and regular The Money Box Cap 2k swimmer, was diagnosed with prostate cancer. Joe is doing pretty well after surgery, but has had to watch it very closely. Joe plans to swim The Money Box Cap 2k again this year. You can read Joe’s story at http://www.cap2k.com.

About six year’s ago another longtime friend and TeamTexas swimmer, Larry Bugen, together with whom I did a post-doctoral in 1974-75, was diagnosed with prostate cancer. Larry’s cancer has been very aggressive. Recently Larry has begun experimental trials to battle his cancer, which has made its way into his spine. You can read Larry’s story on The Money Box Cap 2k website as well.

Larry continued to swim last summer, which seemed to help his strength for the fight. If he is strong enough, Larry, who loves swimming The Money Box Cap 2k, will swim it again. If not, I’ll be swimming it for him.

The odds are you too have been touched somehow by prostate cancer, because 1 in 6 men are diagnosed with prostate cancer. Those are Kevin Bacon kind of numbers. If you don’t have it, you are likely to have a family member, friend, coworker, or teammate that does. It touches most of us.

Please join me in helping to eradicate prostate cancer. Please swim The Money Box Cap 2k Open Water Race and Pledge Swim on May 5, 2012 and swim it for pledges (100% of all pledge money will go directly to our charities. Help us find sponsors to put on a great event; perhaps your company, the company for which you work, or businesses with which you do business. And, please, spread the word. Larry, Joe, and millions of others need our help.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

